Intentionality-My New Life Lesson

I have been thinking a lot lately about being intentional and really focusing on making all aspects of my life directed and purposeful. To many times in this life I find myself drifting, doing things out of habit or convenience. There are so many times when I return home from work, throw on the TV (out of habit), and sit without really thinking or experiencing life. I don’t think I am alone in this either. Many of us spend much of our lives simply allowing habit to guide our actions. Yet, I do not believe this is a good way to live. I believe there is another way-a way of life that involves being intentional about everything. It is reclaiming the right to make choices in every area of life.untitled

Some of this new philosophy of mine comes from the very great yet very unknown philosopher, Hannah Arendt. Arendt believed that one of the most vital characteristics involved in human freedom is agency and action. We need to hold onto our ability to make decisions that matter-decisions about our own lives. Too many times, we allow ourselves to simply ride along the waves of life and time, without really making any decisions about anything. I want to choose my life, and every area of it. I want to be intentional about what I do with my time-whether that is reading, playing the guitar, writing, or indulging in my video-game and movie-watching hobbies. At work, I want to choose how hard I work, how I conduct my time. I want to be organized and choose how I live. This is partly what motivated my post on my EDC (EveryDayCarry) a few weeks ago. This is why I have re-organized by closet and clamped down on the food that I eat and when I indulge. I need to be intentional about everything, or else I will look back on my life and realize how much time I have wasted. To be a good husband, friend, and (eventually) father-I need to seize hold of my life. Here I stand!

Share your thoughts

