Review: Oast House

So here’s something that I haven’t done for a while. I have unfortunately not had a great deal of opportunities to try new beers recently, so when my wife and I went to Niagara-on-the-Lake, I jumped at the opportunity to visit a local brewery and try their wares. I have tried Oast House before, and been impressed. The brew master clearly cares a great deal about his work, and the results are very well-rounded and delicious! As I have taken a bit of time before doing this, some of my memory has gone, but I will do my best!

image

I will be reviewing two of their beers, neither of which are their flagship beer (The Barnraiser), but I think they provide a good sample.

First off, the strawberry rhubarb. This beer gives you exactly what its name suggests. The nose reminds me of a delicious pie, with a nice light touch. Strawberry and rhubarb are immediately apparent, followed by some honey and nuttiness. The appearance also points to the flavour- it is misty with a light honey colour and nice lacing on the sides. Very little head, which is fine for this beer. The mouthfeel is light and smooth, with very little carbonation. The taste, not surprisingly, is strongly of strawberry and rhubarb. It is clearly a flavoured beer, which is something I generally don’t go for. But the flavour was done very well, and created a surprisingly delicious combination of bitterness and sweetness, My only real complaint is that I found it a tad too sweet. Still a delicious beer that I quite enjoyed. I give it a 7/10 for a flavoured beer.

The other beer was the Biere de Garde, which I greatly enjoyed. It was a very nice caramel colour with delicate lacing on the side of the glass. The nose was strongly of brown sugar and maple, and made me greatly look forward to drinking it. The mouthfeel was heavy and sticky, but not overly so. The taste-wow! Very good beer! It had some nice light hops that provided a contrast with the sweet taste. Hints of caramel and brown sugar made this beer pure enjoyment for me. The big surprise for me was how much my wife enjoyed this beer (she hates beer generally). It had such a nice, deep and robust flavour that did not startle the pallet to strongly. I give it a solid 8/10.

Share your thoughts

