Beer Night#2

Hello all,

I have left this train hanging for quite a while now, but I suppose the second edition of beer reviews from my beer night is about due. For our second beer review, Brunden and I sampled the Staropramen Lager. I have not tried a great deal of beers from Czech Republic, so I was rather looking forward to the experience. I was not overly impressed however-but far be it from me to judge the nation’s beers after only tasting one!

Staropramen-brewery-exteriorStrapopramem Lager, often known as a Czech Pilsener, is brewed by Pivovary Staropramen, in Prague. Construction began on the brewery in 1869, and the brewery has since grown to be one of the largest in Europe as of 1996. Unfortunately, with size often comes the deterioration of quality. This is not a craft beer, artfully made by a brew-master who is looking for the best beer possible. Rather, it is a money-making beer. There is nothing wrong with this, and as mass-produced beers go, it’s not bad.

Style | ABV
Czech Pilsener |  5.00% ABV

Availability: Year-round. bottle, can, on-tap .

Appearance: The beer pours very well, with a very nice head that holds a foamy texture. Nice light beading is prevalent on the side of the glass. The beer, with a clear golden colour, is definitely inviting-that is for certain.

Nose: With strong hops and grassy waves, the beer is fairly typical of a Pilsener. The light hints of apple and chestnut were appealing and made me curious to try the beer to discover if the flavours I was picking up on were still prevalent.

Mouthfeel: A nice creamy and smooth beer with very low carbonation. In retrospect, it probably was a bit flat, and a little more kick may have added to the quality of the beer. It hung around the tongue in a pleasant way, however.2744058_300

Taste: Lighter on the hops than I originally expected. The apple did come out in the flavour, but unfortunately the chestnut that I was picking up on was solely located in the nose. A very light hint of maple came into the back of the beer, but without very much prevalence. I didn’t get much from this beer-I found it rather bland to be honest.

Overall: As I mentioned at the beginning of this post-nothing to write home about. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good either. There was a strong lingering taste that gave a pleasurable experience-but the lack of complexity meant that I couldn’t get excited about it.

My rating:  ◊◊◊◊◊◊/◊◊◊◊

Share your thoughts

