Salmorejo-My Disappointing Foray

imageHello Everyone, I have another food post for you, although this particular post may seem a bit inauthentic, as I did not particularly enjoy the recipe upon completion. However, I am sharing it with you because I was able to ascertain that-if you are a tomato lover, you will fall in love with this chilled soup. I, unfortunately, am not a tomato lover, and it seems that will not be changing any time soon. The reason why I made the attempt at making this particular dish was purely as an attempt to expand my own tastes and appreciations in the food world. I know that, growing up, there were a number of foods that I simply could not stand. Subsequently, however, I forced myself to try these food items and have learned to love them. For example, green peppers (believe it or not), never graced my diet as a child, so the few times that I had them I was resistant toward this new and strange vegetable. Of course, vegetables in general were anathema to me, and I had to push fairly hard to convince myself to explore what I now view as one of the most rewarding aspects of cooking-delicious vegetable dishes. Unfortunately, there are imagesome types of food that I have been unable to embrace. One of them is squash-I cannot help but find the texture revolting. The other, unfortunately, is tomatoes. They look beautifully delicious-their bright colouration and succulent juices would be enticing to anyone who can appreciate fresh and natural delights. I see this, and I have many times thought: I must like that delicious vegetable, because how could I not?! Regretfully, I am misleading myself. I will probably continue to take an occasional leap and try to appreciate the tomato, but I am not there yet. All that is to say that, I genuinly believe that this is a good recipe, and it is relatively simple to perform. I am sure that, if you enjoy tomatoes, you will like this-I, unfortunately, do not. This recipe is from the Toronto Star’s “Feast” section, on July 4, 2013.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Egg
  • 3 Slices of Sourdough Bread
  • 2 Garlic Cloves
  • 4 Ripe Tomatoesimage
  • 2 1/2 Cups of Tomato Juice
  • 2 Teaspoons of Sherry Vinegar
  • 3 Slices of Ham
  • Fresh Herbs, lightly torn

Directions:

  1. Cook egg for 9 minutes, chill in water.
  2. Take one slice of the bread, remove crust, and tear into small bits
  3. On medium high heat, saute bread in 2 tbsp of olive oil with 1 clove of garlic, until crispy (about 12 min)
  4. Peel egg and grate or chop
  5. Quarter tomatoes and puree in blender
  6. Pass through fine mesh strainer into large mixing bowl.
  7. Cut 2 Slices of bread into large chunks, and soak in tomato puree for 10 minutes
  8. Return tomatoes and bread to blender.
  9. Add tomato juice and puree.
  10. Add vinegar and oil, and blend for a couple minutes-until it is shiny. Season to taste.
  11. Tear the ham and herbs into small bits.
  12. Serve soup cold in bowls garnished with egg, bread, crumbs, ham, and herbs.

 

 

Share your thoughts

