Warsteiner Premium Verum Beer

As this is my first post in this category, I should explain myself in some manner before proceeding. One of my interests premium quality beers-tasting them, assessing them, and enjoying them. I have never become intoxicated in my entire life (I know-hard to believe), but I greatly appreciate the craft and skill that goes into developing a good beer, as well as the history that it is a part of. So, I am intending on transcribing my impressions of the various beers that I sample through the utilization of this forum. How does this relate to my general theme of gentlemanly decorum? It is my opinion that, regardless of the activity, a pursuit of excellence should be engaged in. I do not drink beer to become intoxicated-I drink it to savour the excellence that is developed. I am, in some ways, a beer snob (although I try to avoid presenting myself as such). I will write more on this subject at a later time I am sure, but for now-I will be reviewing the Warsteiner Premium Verum.

Brewed by: Warsteiner Brauerei, Germany

Style | ABV
German Pilsener |  4.80% ABV

Appearance: Beautiful beading on the glass, with a steady stream of bubbles rising. A strong but clear golden that resembles apple juice. Good foamy head when first poured, but this dissipates fairly quickly to leave a light foam island on the surface of the beer.

Nose: Strong fermentation, somewhat overpowering at first. Hints of the apple notes common in pilseners, Light fruity wafts with hints of honey.

Taste: Not as strong as I expected, given the nose of the beer. Quite sweet, with the base holding an apple and honey tone. Light hints of pine and nut, stronger in the aftertaste.

Mouthfeel: Good level of carbonation that provides bite but not bark. Sticky, collecting at the back of the mouth. A pleasant overall wet refreshing feel that invites you to take long swallows instead of sips.

Overall: A nice beer that is easily drinkeable and provides a nice companion to relaxing or refreshment. Not a conversational piece, but enjoyable. Good pairing for a heavy meal, as it would provide a reprieve.

My rating: ◊◊◊◊◊◊/◊◊◊◊

Availability: Year-round. bottle (593), can (81), on-tap (77), nitro-tap (3), cask (2), nitro-can (1), growler (1).

Beer Advocate Review

Share your thoughts

