My basil and goat cheese pasta

image

So, here’s my story. My wife and I recently won a two-night stay at a luxury hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake (needless to say, we are very excited about it!). In order to receive our prize, we had to go into Toronto to sign a travel waver. So, since I had the day off from work regardless of how long we were in Toronto, we figured that we might as well make a day of it. My wife and I had honey-mooned in Toronto, so there are some places that we were looking forward to returning to. One of the places that we revisited was a restaurant called Remy’s, a beautiful restaurant in down-town Toronto, very close to the Prada and Gucci stores-I mention those because we always have to pop in and gaze at the items that we will never be able to afford. What is so very nice about this restaurant, aside from the nice ambiance and lovely patio, is that the food is delicious, and delightfully affordable. You can easily leave having only spent around $10.00 on a lunch of deliciously crafted food that is selective in the ingredients used and simple in its tantalizing flavours. I ordered the Fusilli Primavera, and I enjoyed it so much that I decided that I wanted to try to recreate it at home. This is what I came up with, but I fully admit that I am missing a few ingredients. Even going back on the website, I saw that I had forgotten a number of key items-primarily, the original dish is described as containing tomato and Parmesan, although I cannot remember there being any tomato involved-which seems peculiar. Regardless, I enjoyed my recreation-the flavour was a bit of a departure from the inspiration, but that may be a good thing-it means that it is something new! The recipe is as follows:

Dressing:

  • 1 Cup: Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/3 Cup: Lemon Juice
  • 1/4 Cup: Honey
  • 3 Tablespoons: Basil
  • 2 Cloves: Minced Garlic
  • 1/4 Cup: Spinach

Pasta

  • 1 Pinch: Dry Basil
  • 3 Cups: Penne Noodles
  • 1 Cup: Torn Spinach
  • 540 ml: Chick Peas
  • 1 Cup: Diced Chicken
  • 1/2 Cup: Goat Cheese

Directions:

  1. Boil water, add noodles, and cook until tender
  2. Fry chicken in olive oil and dried basil
  3. Pour honey, basil, and lemon juice into blender and process briefly
  4. Add spinach and process
  5. Combine chicken and noodles in large pan on medium-low heat
  6. Pour dressing onto noodles and mix well
  7. Add chick-peas to pasta
  8. Add spinach and cook mixture for 3 minutes on low heat
  9. Scoop pasta into bowl, crumble goat cheese on top, and serve.

The predominant flavour in this pasta is the goat cheese, but the basil and other seasoning gives it a little zing and texture of flavours. I hope you enjoy it!

Share your thoughts

